sitemap | Trunch Village website |
HOME     |    ST BOTOLPH'S     |     PAST CONCERTS     |    CONTACT     |   LINKS

Trunch Concerts - Music in a historic Norfolk Church
Concert 10th October 2015

SATURDAY 10th OCTOBER at 7.30pm



  • Mozart: Gran Partita KV 361
  • Myslivicek: Octet no. 2 in E-flat
  • Mozart (arr. Triebensee): Don Giovanni

Tickets in advance £12 (£5 for under 16’s) from Trunch Corner Stores or North Norfolk District Council (card payments only) 01263 516294

Admission on the door £15 (£5 for under 16’s)
Part of the ‘NNDC Orchestras Live’ Season |

Mozart was/is probably the finest composer of music for wind instruments and he wrote many pieces for large (6-13) groups of wind instruments. The most substantial of these is Mozart’s Gran Partita KV 361. It contains some stunningly beautiful music. In the film Amadeus (1984), the protagonist Salieri comments on a passage from the third movement of this masterpiece: “This was no composition by a performing monkey. This was a music I'd never heard. Filled with such longing, such unfulfillable longing. It seemed to me that I was hearing the voice of God.” At this point that Salieri questions how God could choose a vulgar man like Mozart as his voice, so taken is he by the beauty of Mozart’s music.

In October 1777, Mozart, met his respected contemporary Josef Myslivicek in Munich, probably at the time of the first performance of Myslivicek’s 2nd Wind Octet. Mozart wrote to his father describing Myslivicek’s character as "full of fire, spirit and life." This certainly comes through in this lovely octet.

Most of Mozart’s opera were arranged with the composer’s approval for wind octet to provide outdoor musical publicity (in an age of no mass media audio!) and wider popularisation of the opera’s main tunes. Triebensee’s arrangement of Mozart’s Don Giovanni shares all the melodic beauty of the opera in purely instrumental numbers. 

The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment (10th October) is one of the finest orchestras in the world. The Independent, 9 April 2009“For this remarkable ensemble, it’s all about the music.”. Its Principal Artists are Sir Mark Elder, Iván Fischer, Vladimir Jurowski and Sir Simon Rattle CBE and its Emeritus Conductor is Sir Roger Norrington. The orchestra’s excellent website provides much illuminating further details: 

nndc orch